Hilton Head, SC & Savannah, GA

Hilton Head Island the foot-shaped island! Either Savannah, GA or Charleston, SC would be a good place to fly into.

 

E313265F-6161-40FD-97D5-5A283B1672BB
Map of Hilton Head Island

We left Minneapolis during a terrible cold snap in February 2019. I was so glad to leave and be amongst greenery again! Although the temperature was chilly in North Carolina, there was no trace of snow! A win for me in my book. Hilton Head is known for it’s golf courses and yes, it is a golfers dream! I myself am not a golfer but my partner is and I accompanied him on a few of the courses and they are beautiful. Other times I spent my time shopping at the many, many thrift stores as well as the outlet mall nearby. I also was able to walk the beach and drool over all the humongous homes on the oceanfront.

I was fortunate to be staying within walking distance of Harbor Town (circled on the map) The number one reason why I like this location is that you can hop on the daily boat service to Savannah, GA!

BD3528E5-3B8B-460A-81E3-7427DDF84233
Harbor Town Hilton Head Island

I took this day trip by myself and did a little research before I went. I had a “not to miss” list. I will review my “not to miss” list as I think I was able to see all the highlights of this wonderful city!

1. Step of the boat and up the steps to the lovely city of Savannah…

3B109647-A797-445A-A617-EAFCDE72FEC6

2. Savannah is known for the beautiful “squares” or green space. The first square I came across was Washington Square and the colorful flowers were such a warm welcome to me.

 

3. A “must stop” for me was Leopold’s Ice Cream Shop. The recipe for the Tutti Frutti ice cream was invented in 1919 and still homemade daily. It is lightly strawberry flavored, contains nuts, rum and candied fruit. It was as yummy as it sounds! 🍨🍦

4. Now that you got a little sugar rush going…keep walking..so much more to see! Wright Square and Chippewa Square are up ahead. Chippewa Square is home to the bench where Forrest Gump himself sat!

5. The architecture of the homes is stunning. The homes surround the squares and it makes you feel like you are in another time and place.

6. Cathedral of St. John the Baptist. 1873. Visually stunning church both inside and outside

7. Lafayette Square and the surrounding homes.

8. Forsyth Park. Large green space lined with one beautiful home after the other. I suggest walking the park, then walking the street on the way back to the boat just to gawk at the homes!

9. I was hungry after all the walking and gawking. Lol. On the way back to the boat I planned it right to make a stop at Miss Paula Deen’s southern restaurant called “Lady & Sons” They feature a buffet with all her favorite southern foods all in one place. Yes, I ate alone and without shame…fried chicken, veggies, macaroni & cheese, mashed potatoes, and okey gooey buttercake among many other offerings. It was very reasonable considering the quality and number of choices. ($18) It is very popular place and although a large space, reservations are recommended.

10. A farewell drink? Sure! Go to the top of the Bohemia hotel that sits overlooking the Savannah River. Here you will find a lovely rooftop bar that features a signature drink called “Rocks on the Roof’s Savannah Tea”

11. Sorry.. I tried to make it a Top 10 but have a couple more thing on the “must see” list. It is another food option, but this one you can take it to go and savor it for later. Actually it is 2 stops. Stop 1: Byrds Cookies…so many choices, pick wisely! Stop 2: Candy Kitchen for pralines of course! Both are located along the quaint riverfront walk, perfect stops before hopping back on the boat back to Hilton Head Island.

Gotta go…my boat is here! Visit again when I will visit Charleston, SC..until then..

Leave a comment